Restoring a Pair of Chisels

The victims...errrr subjects! A Witherby and a Buck.

The victims…errrr subjects! A Witherby and a Buck.

 

Recently I restored a pair of chisels for a friend, Matt Cianci, in payment for sharpening a pair of saws for me. The pic above shows the chisels as I received them. Matt had de-rusted them prior to sending them to me. They had no handles and were far from useable. He included a hornbeam log to be used for the handles.

The hornbeam log cut into 2 pieces for the chisel handles.

The hornbeam log cut into 2 pieces for the chisel handles.

The hornbeam log cut and ready for the lathe.

One chisel handle blank turned round and marked out for roughing out.

One chisel handle blank turned round and marked out for roughing out.

You will see the finished handles later.

Now I move on to polishing the chisels using Scotch Brite wheels on my buffer, but you could mount these on any old electric motor. I recommend one that turns 3650 RPM. I use a rough and a finish wheel. I use a 1″ wide belt sander to rough polish the sockets before I go to the Scotch Brite wheels.

The chisels after polishing.

The chisels after polishing.

The above pic really does not due justice to these old chisels. They look pretty good compared to when I first received them.

Flattening the chisel backs.

Flattening the chisel backs.

Next I ground the bevels to 23Âș on my bench grinder and flattened the backs on my diamond plates. I left the final honing of the backs and the secondary bevels to Matt.

The finished chisels with new hornbeam handles.

The finished chisels with new hornbeam handles.

Above you can see the finished chisels with their old style hornbeam handles ready for another 100 years of service.

Please note that I have added a restored Stanley #720 chisel with a new hornbeam handle to the “For Sale” page.

As always, thanks for stopping by and feel free to leave a comment.

 

 

About R & B ENTERPRISES

Professional furniture maker and restorer. Dealer and collector of vintage and antique woodworking tools.
This entry was posted in Woodworking Hand Tools and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Restoring a Pair of Chisels

  1. Bob Jones says:

    I think you meant 100 years of service :) Really nice work.

Leave a Reply

