Super Simple Clamp Rack

This is the clamp rack that I currently use.

As a professional woodworker if I’m not working on a customer’s order I’m not making money! This principle is the driving force behind shop projects, such as a jig, a fixture, an appliance or a clamp rack. I have to balance complexity of the design and build with the convenience or time savings afforded by the project. This principle also applies to hobbyists. Certainly your shop time is limited and you want to spend as much of it as possible working on your favorite projects, not tool holders.

I put a great deal of thought into whatever the current shop project is before I put pencil to paper for a design sketch. The KISS principle always applies to my shop projects, (Keep It Simple Stupid). Mind you I don’t sacrifice quality and service for fast and easy, but the quicker I can finish a shop project the quicker I can get back to my customer orders.

The picture above is the clamp rack in my shop. This is the second shop I have had and this type of clamp rack is what I have always used. My first shop was in a basement and when my clamp collection became too much to keep under my workbench this is the type of rack I came up with. I figured out the length I needed and cut a 2 x 4 to that length. Then I cut a couple of 2 x 4’s for vertical supports, the length of which was determined by the height that I determined was comfortable for me and would keep the longest clamps off the floor. These vertical supports were screwed to the floor joists and the 2 x 4 that was to serve as the clamp rack was screwed to these vertical supports. I used pocket screws to fasten a 3/4″ thick piece of plywood vertically to the clamp rack to hold my spring clamp collection.

When I moved to my current shop I built a new clamp rack because my clamp collection had expanded from that of my first rack and I had added a second 2 x 4 to hold the extra clamps and I now wanted a one piece design. The new rack was to mount to an exposed beam. The horizontal 2 x 4 was spaced from the beam and hung on short lengths of, you guessed it! 2 x 4’s. I even attached the original plywood spring clamp rack to the new horizontal member.

The left end of my clamp rack

The right end of my clamp rack.

Detail showing the method of spacing and hanging from the beam

I have been using this type of clamp rack for many years and have never had any problems. As you can see it holds parallel bar clamps, pipe clamps, F-clamps, quick clamps, C-clamps, spring clamps, and wooden hand screws. The only part of my collection of clamps that are not on this rack are my miniature clamps.All of my clamps are in plain sight only a few steps from my workbench. Oh, the nail is for hanging my coat.

So if you are in need of a quick,cheap and simple clamp rack why not try this one.

As always, thanks for stopping by and please feel free to leave a comment if you like.

About R & B ENTERPRISES

Professional furniture maker and restorer. Dealer and collector of vintage and antique woodworking tools.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Super Simple Clamp Rack

  1. Marilyn says:

    Now that’s a simple clamp rack. Excellent!
    Inspector Kitten seems to like it as well except that something behind the trash can is more interesting.

  2. ketlonraider says:

    Superb for your Blog content thanks for Sharing.

    beam clamp

    Sheet metal components

  3. Great design of clamp rack and very effective way to keep your clamps in such simple but creative way.

Leave a Reply

