Wanted Dead or Alive!

Millers Falls Langdon #16 or #16 1/2

Now that I have your attention. The picture above is a tool that I have been wanting for a long time. Finally one appeared at the CT Valley School of Woodworking open house. Unfortunately it was not for sale, but I at least got to take a couple of pics. Other than pics this is the first one I have seen.If you have one for sale or know where one can be had please LMK. Any condition is acceptable.

However, keep in mind that I am a Yankee and that means I am chhhh…er frugal ya that’s it I’m frugal. A fair price I will gladly pay, but I won’t pay collectors price. I want this tool to use.

Making a Tote Pt 2 is almost ready to publish. Hopefully I can get to it this week.

Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to comment.

About R & B ENTERPRISES

Professional furniture maker and restorer. Dealer and collector of vintage and antique woodworking tools.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wanted Dead or Alive!

  1. Marilyn says:

    Wheww boy! According to Schwartz, he’s tripping over them in his neighbor’s yard, but I’ve never seen them except on ebay (eye roll).

    Have you looked at Brass City? “Miter boxes…some of you know that I’ve been a magnet for these things…somehow the word got out that I was looking for good useable miter boxes…this is the result: the heard of boxes”:

    http://www.brasscityrecords.com/toolworks/new%20tools.html

  2. John says:

    Bill, if that is the small version of the Langdon box, I actually have one, but, I hate to tell you, mine ain’t for sale either. I’ll keep my eyes open for you. There were a few listed on ebay a while back. That is where I got the one that I have. They did not have the proper saw with them unfortunately, but, I fortunately already had a saw that worked perfectly. I also have a larger Langdon that I also like. I’ve tried the Stanley boxes, and a couple of other designs and have yet to find any that work as clean and smooth as the old Langdon miter boxes.

    • Yes John the one I’m looking for is indeed the small box. I found one on ebay awhile back, but my budget wouldn’t allow it so I passed it on to a friend. Please LMK if you do come across one. Did you have to pay a high price for yours?

Leave a Reply

