You Might Want to Try These

Red pencil works good on walnut.

Red pencil works good on walnut.

White pencil is often recommended for use when laying out parts in walnut. I don’t like the white pencils I have tried. They are too soft and waxy making them draw heavy lines and the lines are hard to remove. Bob Vandyke, the director of the Connecticut Valley School of Woodworking, suggested using red pencil instead. So far I like it much better than the white pencils I have tried. If you are not happy with the white pencils you might want to give the red pencils a try. They are easy to see, hold a point better than the white and are easy to remove.

Keep Your Layout Pencils Sharp

Sandpaper on a wood block works well to keep your pencils sharp for parts layout.

Sandpaper on a wood block works well to keep your pencils sharp for parts layout.

This is an old draftsman’s tool used in the days when part drawings were done by hand. The PC days……………..as in Pre Computer! In fact this type of pencil pointer was sold wherever draftsman’s tools were sold. It is easy to make one. I used some old garnet paper and affixed it to a piece of scrap cherry with spray contact adhesive. Go lightly with the contact adhesive and spray only the paper. This way the paper will be easy to remove and replace when it is worn.

Sharpened to a chisel point.

Sharpened to a chisel point.

I like to sharpen my pencils to a chisel point. This allows the pencil to draw a line much closer to a straight edge.

As always thanks for stopping by and please feel free to leave a comment.

 

About R & B ENTERPRISES

Professional furniture maker and restorer. Dealer and collector of vintage and antique woodworking tools.
This entry was posted in Measuring & Layout, Quick Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You Might Want to Try These

  1. sablebadger says:

    I’ll have to try that, I use a pencil now on my walnut and it’s almost impossible to see.

  2. handguitar says:

    I’m about to work on some rosewood and got a white pencil specially for that. I’ll see how that goes, but might try your red pencil suggestion as well (although I’m not sure that would show up on dark rosewood). I’m amazed how long it took me to get a different coloured pencil though, having always worked with black. Creature of habit, I guess…

    • I do a lot of work with cocobolo and usually use a soft regular pencil. As I said I don’t like the white pencils I have tried. They produce a line that is too thick. I haven’t tried the red pencil on this wood yet, but will.

      Thank you for your comment.

Leave a Reply

