Restored Backsaws

Backsaws recently restored.

Backsaws recently restored.

Above are two backsaws I just finished restoring. The upper saw is a 14″ Richardson Brothers 12 ppi with a beech tote. The lower saw is a 14″ Atkins 12 ppi with an apple handle.

The saws were disassembled, but the backs were not removed. The plates were de-rusted, straightened and re-tensioned. Then they were polished and sharpened. The handles were stripped and re-finished. The brass was cleaned and polished and the saws reassembled. They are now ready for another hundred years of good service. Both of these saws have been sold but there are more on the way if anyone is interested contact me at HARDWARECITYTOOLS@gmail.com

If there is any interest in seeing how the backsaw restoration process is accomplished please LMK and I will write an article on an upcoming backsaw restoration.

As always thanks for stopping by and please feel free to leave a comment.

 

About R & B ENTERPRISES

Professional furniture maker and restorer. Dealer and collector of vintage and antique woodworking tools.
This entry was posted in Woodworking Hand Tools and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Restored Backsaws

  1. Jamie Rice says:

    I’d be interested in seeing more about your restoration process. The results are fantastic.
    – Jamie

  2. Chris P. says:

    I’m definitely interested is seeing the process I have atleast one back saw that could use it, thanks!

  3. Marilyn says:

    Whew! I wish I need another saw. Those are really sweet and just the right size.

    I’d also like to see more on the restoration process.

  4. Randy Allen says:

    I’d be very interested in an article detailing how you restore these saws to useful service. Especially any details on stripping the handles and de-rusting the plates. I find myself aquiring some old Disstons in need of new life.

    Randy

Leave a Reply

