Craftsman Bandsaw Revisited

The new bandsaw.

The new bandsaw.

Back in March of 2013 I purchased a Craftsman 10″ table top bandsaw to use exclusively for cutting contours. You can read about the setup of this machine in a post published on March 25, 2013, part 1, and another post published on April 8, 2013, part 2. After using this machine for a little over a year I thought you might like an update. So here it is.

I am very pleased with this saw. It has performed well with no adjustments or fettling of any kind. It runs smoothly and cuts well.

Recently I had to replace the 3/16″ 4 TPI blade that I installed on the saw originally because it broke. I think that a combination of small, 10″,  wheels, very little back on a 3/16″ wide blade with deep gullets, and leaving the blade tensioned all the time led to the breakage. Installing the new blade was not fussy at all. I needed a blade fast to finish a job I had started so I bought a blade locally. The narrowest blade I could get was 1/4″. this blade is too wide for the radii I need to cut so I will order another 3/16″ 4 TPI blade and this time I will take the tension off the blade when not in use.

The price of this saw was $169. At that price you can’t go wrong. I can recommend this saw as long as you are aware that the original setup can be very frustrating (read the previous posts). Overall I am very pleased with this saw and have no regrets on its purchase. Knowing what I know now I would definitely buy this saw again.

As always, thanks for stopping by and feel free to leave a comment.

 

About R & B ENTERPRISES

Professional furniture maker and restorer. Dealer and collector of vintage and antique woodworking tools.
This entry was posted in Product Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Craftsman Bandsaw Revisited

  1. John says:

    Do you ever feel restrained by the maximum cutting height? I’m trying to save up for either a 16″ or maybe a 14″ with riser blocks, partly so I could cut instrument tops and bottoms. Don’t suppose you have any interest in that, though.

    • John says:

      er, CONstrained, not REstrained. Sorry – been a long day.

      • I have a Delta 14″ with a 6″ riser that I use for resawing. It became too time consuming to change it back and forth from contouring to resawing with every lot of plane totes. So I bought the 10″ Craftsman to use strictly for contouring. This eliminated most of the change overs saving considerable time. For instrument work you will need a bigger saw.

Leave a Reply

