Modern Coating for Bench Planes

This is the paint I have been using for re-painting bench planes.

This is the paint I have been using for re-painting bench planes.

For many years I have been using Dupli-Color gloss black engine enamel to re-paint planes after removing what was left of their original finish. Lately I have been having trouble finding this paint locally. When buying this type of paint online shipping is expensive because flammable items cannot be air shipped and have to be shipped as hazardous materials. It seems the local auto stores are stocking another brand. So I have been looking for a good substitute.

A friend has been using this paint on his tool restorations and swears by it.

A friend has been using this paint on his tool restorations and swears by it.

The above paint is readily available locally at a good price. This is what I will try on my next plane restoration.

I am currently working on a bench plane rehab. I have taken a fairly modern, inexpensive, easy to find plane and will prepare it and set it up to be a perfectly good user. The article on this rehab should be published very soon so stay tuned for more.

As always, thank you for stopping by and feel free to leave a comment.

About R & B ENTERPRISES

Professional furniture maker and restorer. Dealer and collector of vintage and antique woodworking tools.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Modern Coating for Bench Planes

  1. Bob Jones says:

    The Rustoleum equivalent works great. I used it on my primary users. Looks like the real thing, to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

